This project is read-only.

What is effect of stopping Event Service (SfTS v3)

Apr 4, 2012 at 9:28 PM

We are finally migrating TFS2008 to TFS2010. Along with this comes SfTSv2 to SfTSv3 upgrade.

We have a relatively large number of projects.  I have to do them one at a time. What is the effect on users of other projects if I stop the SfTS event service while doing the import phase of the operation (which can take a while)?

I can warn folks not to check in items or modify work items but that doesn't prevent them from accessing it. I don't want work to be lost or workitems to be corrupted.

Richard

Apr 5, 2012 at 9:20 AM

The only impact will be that changes to workitems won't trigger aggregations or transitions to occur. For example, updates to Sprint Backlog Task work remaining figures won’t get rolled up to the parent Product Backlog Item.

This isn’t a big issue though. All you need to do is run the SyncAll service after your migration is complete to catchup on and outstanding aggregations and transitions.

 

Cheers, Colin

Apr 5, 2012 at 4:09 PM

Thanks for the reassuring reply Colin.

Richard